The Gateway To Christian Anarchy (Jn 10:9)

gate-2I took the picture attached to this post about five years ago while I was traveling through Amish country in Western PA. This pic was shot as part of a photography project I engaged in to capture nature scenes that reminded me of the seven “I Am” statements of Jesus as found in The Gospel According to St. John.  I enlarged and framed this particular photo and it now hangs in my office at the hospital where I minister. It is entitled “I Am The Gate.”

As you can see the gate in the photo is wide open, the chain which could close the gate is hanging limp, and anyone can come and go through the gate as they please. The gate is worn, beaten, and broken. Some of its wounds are bandaged, but it is still a functioning gate. In some ways this “gate” is a metaphor for humanity’s brokenness and freedom. We are broken and yet functioning; we are human beings able to reflect and exercise our agency.

In a universal sense Jesus, as the prototypical human, is the gate.  Jesus is the gateway to freedom.  He says, “Yes, I am the gate. Those who come in through me will be saved.  They will come and go freely and will find good pastures” (Jn 10:9, NLT).

In his book on anarchism George Woodcock says, “Historically, anarchism is a doctrine which poses a criticism of existing society; a view of a desirable future society; and a means of passing from one to the other.  Mere unthinking revolt does not make an anarchist, nor does a philosophical or religious rejection of earthly power.  Mystics and stoics seek not anarchy, but another kingdom” (1962: 9).

In this statement Woodcock intimates that unreflective activists are not anarchists, nor are non-acting wannabes (arm chair Christians or ivory tower sophists).  Jesus’ idea of heaven is not a fictitious dream of another kingdom, but really a “desirable future society” on earth. Jesus call his disciples (learners) to transform this broken world into what I call The Commonweal of Love, in order that Christian anarchists do not simply reject “earthly power” (like the Amish) but enact Jesus’s anarchist movement in the world.

Jesus, The Gate, calls his disciples to enter into reflective action.  His ministry announcement is ours as well: “The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim release to the captive and the regaining of sight to the blind, to set free those who are oppressed” (Lk 4:18, NET).

Jesus as The Gate is the metaphor of both anarchistic reflection and action.  How do I help others be free; how do I work to disestablish the State and Institutional Religion?  These questions can be the gateway to anarchy for Christians. Going through The Gate and helping others to find freedom will allow us to “have life, and … have it abundantly” (Jn 10:10b, NET).

Reference
Woodcock, George (1962). Anarchism: A History of Libertarian Ideas and Movements. Cleveland, OH: The World Publishing Company.

© Pablo de la Paz, 2016

3 thoughts on “The Gateway To Christian Anarchy (Jn 10:9)

  1. Anti-sophist May 20, 2016 / 4:42 pm

    Well stated. There are many layers to the deprogramming of the worldly institutions weve been trained to accept as legitimate I think it’s importat to be careful we not fall into the what I’ll refer to as the “statetheist” trap. As I’ve noticed many so called atheists will reject the structures of religion or beliefs in God only to substitute all of those sets of standards with the adoration and worship of the state.

    We do ourselves an injustice as Jesus followers if we fall into the same traps.

    Aprrecite the insights.👍

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jesusanarchist May 20, 2016 / 8:58 pm

    I love the term “statetheist.” I was at a conference this morning with Shane Clairborne who lamented that so many US Christians seem to hold the Constitution (especially the 2nd Amendment) as high or higher than the Bible. He also wondered how it was possible that more people are murdered by the death penalty in Bible belt states than in states with less Christians. Amazing.

    My next post I am thinking about writing is about authority, that Jesus was his own authority, and we are own authority in Christ. I am going to quote your “statetheist” term.

    Like

  3. Anti-sophist May 20, 2016 / 9:36 pm

    Well I dont have the patent on that term I’ve heard a few others use it, but I thought it was absolutely brilliant so I’ve adopted it.

    I’m amazed too by the absolute worship of the state especially by so called “Christians.” It’s ok to criticize abortionist doctors or politicians who they dont agree with.

    God help you if you criticise the troops, police for acting badly, or so called “Godly men” in public office who think its acceptable to incinerate civilians with hellfire missles in foreign countries.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment